Click here to see a sortable list of this Beer's Reviews

< Previous Page   Next Page >
#159 Review by KerryA from Boston Area, MA, United States
Score: 4.5 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 9 |
C: Deep Mahogany, ruby highlights, long lasting generous head
A: Dark fruit, candy sugar, roasted malt, chocolate
P: Full bodied
F: Well balanced, sweet nutty malt tones up front, bitter burnt sugar notes in the end
O: All three Rochefort beers are pretty much identical (they start out as the same virgin batch) but the length of time they leave the batch in the vat really allows the beer to improve leaving the 10 a much better beer than the 6

5/11/2020 8:01:47 AM |
10
0 
#158 Review by Fishingfast from Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Score: 3.8 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 6 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Pours out a deep brown color with no head. The aroma of alcohol is very present with hints of spice. The mouthfeel is smooth but has some sting from the alcohol. To get the best taste it's best to let it warm up. To get the best taste from this ale. Shake up the laste two ounces in the bottle. Then hold on to your taste buds.
12/22/2015 6:17:54 PM |
1
0 
#157 Review by iRikal from Montreal, Canada
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 7 | Flavor 7 | Overall 8 |
Bought 4 bottles of this brew after seeing all the hype. After losing a bottle to an accident (please don't ask...) i opened one right at the proper temp as recommended (12C). Poured with a thin brownish head in a chalice glass (I used a Leffe glass) Color is deep brown, pretty opaque, smells of caramel, raisins with some earth tones. Very interesting. Mouthfeel is very strong. Presence of alcohol is very present (at 11.3%, it was kind of expected) but not completely overwhelming. However, a bit too strong for my taste. Taste of caramel and malt are present, undertones of caramel and honey. Definitely yeasty. I had a pretty large yeast deposit at the bottom of my glass. Overall, i would say that it is an excellent beer... but for my taste, the 8 had better mouthfeel with most of the same taste present. It is a must try nonetheless,
9/15/2013 4:11:21 PM |
1
0 
#156 Review by PaleAleRider from Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Score: 4.2 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Enjoyed a bottle at Pub Italia in a huge chalice glass. Pours a big foamy brownish head that doesn't leave much lace. Head dissipates slightly and becomes a thinner layer. Has a dark amber colour. Aromas are mostly dark roasted malts and mild spices. Flavours are plentiful, with malts notes of raisins, caramel, herbal and earthy hops, hints of chocolate, barley and a bit yeasty. Quite overwhelming actually. Nice warming mouthfeel and a bit of a tingling sensation. Slight bitterness but quite welcome. Really smooth and goes down pretty easy, especially this one at 11.3%. Happy to have tried this one!
3/16/2013 9:30:07 PM |
1
0 
#155 Review by gig from Mississauga, Canada
Score: 4.3 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 9 | Overall 8 |
Thank you to givmebeer for giving it to me. I have had this bottle for quite a while. I think I was a bit intimidated by it's rating on beerpal. It poured with a nice tan head that lasted right to bottom of the glass. Impressive. There was some residual solids left inside the bottle, which of course I stirred up and drank., probably my favourite part.I think it is a very good beer, but not exceptional.
11/27/2012 4:43:56 PM |
1
0 
#154 Review by Airforce1 from Faribault, MN, United States
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Pours a very very dark and cloudy amber. The white head stay fluffy for a good 10 minutes and is strong enought to hold up a bottle cap. One thing I did notice is that there are a lot of BIG chunks of yeast on the bottm of the glass. Aroma is of berries and coffee malts. Taste is hard to describe but is very flavorful but not overwhelming. After taste is slightly dry. Overall one of the best I have had to date. BRAVO.
9/30/2012 11:51:41 PM |
1
0 
#153 Review by vipinvelp from Velp, Netherlands
Score: 4 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 8 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
Deep brown color and some sweet distance aroma. Taste is nice bittersweet, with clearly caramel and flowers present. Aftertaste stays nice long and thus good beer.
9/28/2012 5:30:31 AM |
0
0 
#152 Review by iabeerguy from Mount Vernon, IA, United States
Score: 3.9 | Aroma 8 | Appearance 7 | Mouthfeel 8 | Flavor 8 | Overall 8 |
My first time with this beer, thanks to Oz for supplying it. Smell is somewhat boozy but I also get a bunch of fruit notes as well. Nice pour with a really nice head. Dark berries, grapes, dark chocolate aroma. Very nice sipper, the alcohol does not overwhelm, just a hint of burn going down, but the dark chocolate bitterness adds a nice touch at the end. A really great beer!
9/12/2012 8:09:34 PM |
0
0 
#151 Review by givmebeer from stcatharines, Canada
Score: 4.6 | Aroma 9 | Appearance 9 | Mouthfeel 9 | Flavor 10 | Overall 9 |
Had this beer in Belgium 37 years ago. Didn’t quite know what I was drinking but knew it was excellent and still think the same now. So smooth and full flavoured. Absolutely delicious. If this is # 2. Looking forward to # 1. Don’t leave the sludge in the bottom.
7/4/2012 1:39:24 AM |
1
0 
#150 Review by mattfungus from DePere, WI, United States
Score: 5 | Aroma 10 | Appearance 10 | Mouthfeel 10 | Flavor 10 | Overall 10 |
15 pages of reviews, always popping up as one of the top ten beers, and always scoring high, what else can I say? Not much really. Sweet, no bitter bite, just enough yeast. Cherry vanilla with a touch of chocolate. How about making anagrams out of the name: A Fetchers Strip Troop A Perforce Thirst Stop A Perfects Hit Torpors A Stretchier Fop Sport A Preceptors Froths It A Receptors Forth Spit A Sceptres Thrift Poor A Chef Terrors Tiptops A Forceps Tripes Troth A Prosthetic Rep Frost A Chipper Fortress Tot A Pitchers Porters Oft that last one is a where i'll leave it
2/19/2012 12:53:20 AM |
0
0 
 
< Previous Page   Next Page >
×

Review Comments


No comments yet. Be the first!